Viking Cloak and Drinking Horn

So, this viking thing is getting out of hand. First it was just a costume for me, then my friend and I wanted to be vikings, and now my whole family wants to be vikings!

     I mean, ok, who can blame us, Vikings are cool, it’s an occupational hazard.

     So come October, we will be attending an event dressed as a pillaging band of fun-loving vikings, watch out South Florida! You never know where we might show up.

 In the mean time I have a lot of viking sewing coming my way. I’ve been working on mine on and off for months (I may or may not have resewn it three or four times, I just couldn’t make up my mind!) I’m not ready to share the whole costume yet and I’ve yet to start on garb for the family, but to whet your appetite for viking shenanigans here’s the cloak I will be wearing as part of my garb.

Viking short cloak with fur.

Viking short cloak with fur.

What did you say? Yes, I am wearing a fur covered cloak to an event in South Florida. Yes, I may be insane, thank you for asking!  

Closer look at fur.

Closer look at fur.

You may notice there is no hood and no ties to close it, one day I may add these things but for the moment I’m much happier without them. Too often the ties on cloaks end up trying to strangle me, I really hate them around my neck. I went for a much more ‘viking-like’ route and will use brooches to attack the cloak directly to my costume. Hopefully I can find matching ones before the event. The fur attaches to the cloak by snaps so if I get too hot I can ditch the cloak and attach just the fur to my outfit.

 

Back of cloak, love how this fabric drapes.

Back of cloak, love how this fabric drapes.

 The fur is Rabbit, I picked it up at an Seminole reservation a few years ago. A buck each with no tax, beat that.                                                                                                                                                                    But what’s a viking without their drinking horn?

All the horns, each one is unique.

All the horns, each one is unique.

 We ordered these from Sword Demon, they are natural cow horn and very pretty! They were about fifteen dollars and hold about a cup of liquid. They came with a very sturdy leather holder. Whether we will actually drink from them is up for debate, they do smell very strongly. 

My horn.

My horn.

 My horn is the darkest, isn’t it beautiful?

Leave a Reply

