A Little Inspiration

It was a wonderful, busy Halloween season and I have so many costumes to post. In fact, I don’t even know where to start. However, the beginning of November has something else on my mind. To writers November is National Novel writing month and many writers join the NaNoWriMo project.

(For more information here’s the official link, http://nanowrimo.org/)

 I won’t be one of them but I hope to use this month to focus on my writing, now that the sewing rush of Halloween is over. My current manuscript hasn’t exactly been getting the interest that I’d hoped. After ten months of querying and only a few partial requests that went nowhere, I’m prepared to admit that my novel clearly needs a change. I have lots of ideas on how to rework it a little, and make it better and more enticing. However, it’s a daunting task and in the meantime I find myself with no ready manuscript.

It feels like I’m right back at the beginning with only ideas and a mess of words. Well over a year of work and I’m suddenly nowhere. I have other writing projects of course but none that I’ve fallen in love with and nothing remotely ready to query. It’s disheartening at best.

Then I came across this:

10744959_580095248941_416576238_n 

Mistakes are proof you’re trying.  While this is intended towards crafters,  it hit me particularly hard regarding my writing.  I’m trying, and that’s the most important thing. Yes, I’ve made mistakes throughout this process but I can’t regret any of it because I’ve learned an extraordinary amount. And I will take what I’ve learned and grow as a writer.

So, while I’m not participating in the official NaNoWriMo, I am taking Nation Novel Writing Month very seriously. I’m going to pour my heart into writing something, anything, it doesn’t really matter, I’m just going to write.

(Maybe next year, though! Good luck to everyone who’s braving the challange!)

 

Leave a Reply

