Oireachtas Manuscripts and Guinea Pigs, Oh My!

Well, the Oireachtas has come and gone. I was hoping that my four hand team would recall. We didn’t. It was a bit disappointing because we danced amazingly and it sucks when you know you did your best and it wasn’t enough. But as bummed as I was I’ve bounced back and I’m ready to go again (let’s face it, I’m used to rejections and disappointment, I’m a writer!).

While our team might not have placed, I’m still proud of how we danced and of our school! We came away with two World qualifiers ( 3rd in girls U12 and 4rth in boys U12!!!) and a National qualifier. Not too bad for our young school!

 

Last month I mentioned that while I wasn’t competing in NaNoWriMo I was going to use the month to focus on my writing and get back on track. I didn’t write an entire novel in a month but I did do something better. I fell in love with a new project! Now I have something to engage my imagination while I put my other manuscript aside to figure out what’s wrong with the darn thing.

I think one of the hardest thing for a writer is to admit that ‘this’ novel may not be the first one you publish. We get our hearts set on them and to put them aside feels like giving up. Well, there’s no way I’m giving up and I live for the day I get to see it in print but I’ve admitted that this might not happen immedietely and now I have another project to fall back on. And I can’t wait to see where this one goes!

 

And, finally, the baby watch is under way!

067

Valka has been moved to her own cage now and resides in a place of honor in the living room where we can monitor for babies all day (and shower the mommy-to-be with various delicacies …). Since we don’t know how far along she was when we got her we don’t know how close she is. Guinea pigs gestate for around 60 to 70 days. It could happen in a few days or two weeks. Either way, we’re ready.   

060

 

P.S. Spell check is trying to tell me that ‘gestate’ is not a word. Spell check, thou art worthless.

Leave a Reply

