My Night Fury Solo Dress

I’ve been working away on this one since the beginning of the year and I first hinted at it here: https://dancingseamstress.wordpress.com/2015/01/

This is the most elaborate dress I’ve done so far and definitely my favorite. Plenty of mistakes were made of course but I took what I learned from this dress and used it to make the black and purple dress (previous post) the best quality dress I’ve sewn yet.

But who cares, pictures!

013

Close up of bodice detail.

Close up of bodice detail.

This was the most complicated embroidery I’ve done. My machine hasn’t forgiven me yet.

But this dress has a little surprise …

NIGHT FURY! GET DOWN!

NIGHT FURY! GET DOWN!

 Yes, I’m obsessed and I don’t care who knows it. Now Toothless can come to all my performances! The sash isn’t 100% done, I’m going to add a Celtic knot to the top where it attaches to my shoulder. That was one task too many to finish before St. Patrick’s day so for the moment it’s safety pinned.

The dress in action. Photo taken by Jennifer Saikley Miller-Raeth.

The dress in action. Photo taken by Jennifer Saikley Miller-Raeth.

Leave a Reply

