2016 Quick Review

So I sort of neglected this blog for the last couple of months. Time to play some catch up!

What have I been doing? Well, I’ve worked at a couple of crafts shows.

 

Then after years of dreaming of doing it, I finally was given the opportunity of creating and performing an Irish dance drama based on How To Train Your Dragon!! I have probably never been more excited to perform something. I mixed the music out of various pieces from the first and second movie (how awesome is it that so much of the soundtrack is in dance timing??) The only non HTTYD music in the piece was a short section of dragon sound effects I took from Nox Arcana’s Blood of the Dragon, and Warriors from Feet of Flames for the battling the red death scene. With the music set, I then choreographed the entire 6 minute drama. Then of course there were props to paint/make and costumes to sew. My best friend and I took the role of Hiccup and Toothless and the rest of my dancers filled in the ranks as dragons and vikings.

004

One of the backdrops to simulate the idea of being on Berk.

Image may contain: 3 people, people sitting and people standing

My three little dragons before the show. 

I have never been so proud of those kids, I’m telling you. We performed it on a great stage for our school’s recital and they nailed it!  I still have parents coming up to me to tell me how it was so much better than they expected.

And funny story, apparently no one knew that I had acquired a brown wig for the role of Hiccup (since my hip-length blonde hair would have been out of place). I had about ten minutes to get ready between my last number and the drama and I whipped that wig out and manged to shove all my hair in it. When I got on stage my own parents didn’t even recognize me, everyone thought I was one of the boys in our group!

 

My best friend and I almost share a birthday, I’m the 25th of October, she’s the 26th. We always try to do special things for each others birthday (like the previous years Disney birthday extravaganza). Obviously she is a huge Disnerd and her favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast. She’s always wanted Belle’s dress but we’d never quite got around to making it. So I decided to surprise her with it for her birthday! This is my own representation of her iconic gown of course, I went with a goldish/yellow, rose patterned jacquard  with a matching chiffon over skirt. This is her right after receiving it.

She wore it to Mickey’s not so scary shortly after and apparently a kid started crying because her gown was prettier then the kid’s. It probably makes me an awful person but that cracked me up, sorry-not-sorry.

 

 

Then came Halloween. Like the previous year, we set up our backyard as a haunted trail and invited my dance school to come through. Our theme was haunted fairy tales and we spent an entire week decorating (and months planning and making props…) It was fantastic, we had two gnomes in a cave, sleeping beauty’s room, a witch luring the kids into her candy house, and a fairy exterminator. Our ‘guide’ through the trail was little red riding hood, leading the kids on a hunt after the wolf who killed her grandma. Unfortunately the wolf pops out and killed her, leaving the groups to make their own way! We even had a killer mermaid in a tank which was probably my favorite part visually. The bummer? WE FORGOT TO TAKE PICTURES.

Literally, this is all we’ve got,

053Image may contain: plant and outdoor

*smacks head repeatedly into wall*

 

2016 was also our first year dancing at Camelot days a small medieval faire in Hollywood. We performed their he first weekend, three shows a day. I’m including this as important because it was really the first time I handled such a big show. I got us the performance than organized everything from there (with my best friends help thank goodness!) The best thing was that it went perfectly, the numbers went smoothly, the dancers did great and everyone had loads of fun.

Image may contain: one or more people, tree, table, plant, basketball court and outdoor

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, shoes, outdoor and nature

Photo by Melissa Price

Image may contain: 2 people, people playing sports, people on stage, shoes, basketball court and outdoor

Photo by Jenny

Here’s to dancing again there this year!

 

At almost the last moment, I saw this fashion plate from the late 1850s. I’d sort of wanted to make a new dress for a Christmas photo shoot, but I couldn’t make up my mind on what to make and with less than a week till Christmas I’d mostly given upon the idea. Until I saw that blasted fashion plate. A frenzied trip to Joann’s and two days of non stop sewing later and I had finished the reproduction enough to take some pictures at our Christmas party. It is NOT finished in this picture, I still have the blackwork on collar and sleeves to complete, I ran out of the black velvet trim before I got to the skirt, I’d never even tried on the bodice with my corset before this wearing so the bodice still needs o be fitted… you get the idea. But all in all, I am very pleased with how it turns out and I am very excited to finish it properly for a photo shoot before it gets warm.

Feel free to laugh at my attempt to copy the pose in the fashion plate. And I’m not sure why he bodice looks so long here, it must be the angle.

 

20161223_205417_001

Since I was getting dressed up, obviously it wasn’t long before I stuffed my friends into costumes as well. I wanted a nice picture of the three of us. You have NO IDEA how long it took to get this damn picture. Without fail, someone laughed or blinked, or almost fell of the stairs.

20161223_205446

There were many pictures like this .

 

It was wonderful to finish off the year with a last big costume win. But there was one thing we could have down without that Christmas…

202

That’s right, right in the middle of our big Christmas Eve dinner, our oven died with a great explosion of sparks and a brief brown-out though out the house! Party leftovers for Christmas dinner!

Happy New Year to everyone!

 

 

Leave a Reply

