Halloween Photoshoot

First week of October I had a photoshoot with an actual photographer (as opposed to my friends and I snapping away on our phones). The experience itself was really incredible, most of the time I’m completely awkward when getting my picture taken. Someone will ask me “Ok, how do you want to do this?” Or worse, “Pose.” And my brain freezes.

Melissa of Priceless Photos was great, she came prepared with ideas for poses and gave me the perfect instructions. Check out her website http://www.pricelessphotosbymelissa.com/ And then scroll down to see her work!

 

Dress 1 The Hallow Queen.

Funny story… I had months to prepare for this shoot I had plenty of dresses but nothing that I was super excited about. The night before, the words Hallow Queen popped into my head and I dove into my stash like it was the deep end of the pool. The corset was something I’d previously started then forgot about, so all I had to do there was finish sewing the boning channels, bone it, then bind the edge and pop some grommets in that sucker. The skirt I whipped together, blessing myself for accidentally buying that orange chiffon. The spiderwebby shrug is something I’ve had hanging around for years.

Any way, I finished the dress about two hours before I had to leave to meet Melissa. Why do I do this to my self??

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, tree and outdoor

Oh… That’s why.

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, tree, outdoor and nature

Image may contain: 1 person, shoes, tree and outdoor

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, tree and outdoor

Apparently this was Melissa’s first time having a skull in her photos! 😉

shreds-edit-10

Quick note, the tree in the above photo is kinda special. We found it in this park when I was a kid and immediately noticed that it is extremely different from all the other trees. It simply looks like a magic tree. I’ve been visiting this tree for most of my life and it’s always a great place for pictures.

 

Dress 2 My friend called this my dark sleeping beauty dress and I made a face at her because I don’t agree, but now it’s stuck in my head and that’s all I can think to call it.

I made this over a weekend, posting the steps on my facebook page as I went. Some of my followers answered when I asked what sort of sleeves/ skirt I should give it and here we go! I matched it with a burgundy rose patterned cloak for some shots, the cloak is available on my Etsy page.

 

Image may contain: 1 person, standing

 

Image may contain: 1 person, outdoor

*note to self, petticoat not long enough*

 

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, sunglasses and outdoor

 

shreds-edit-2

Leave a Reply

